London Day 3: I’ll Follow the Sun

Hokay. So today was another big big day. As you may have noticed, I’ve named each of my posts after Beatles songs – first Hard Day’s Night because I was jetlagging, the second Helter Skelter because I was wandering all around London in the rain, and this one is I’ll Follow the Sun because of the westerly path I took today. I realized I forgot to explain why I picked each name.

What was so special about today, you might ask? I saw a lot of the things I consider symbolic and monumental in London. I started the day bright and early getting to the Tower of London as it opened at 9. Thanks to a tip from my friend Louise, I knew to book online and save £5! So the most important thing to say about the Tower of London is this: even if you’re on a budget, and you only pay one entrance fee in London, THIS IS IT. I’m not really one to linger in museums (Krystal would know: 30 minutes in the NYC Guggenheim, 20 of them spent waiting in line) but I spent a full 5 hours in this place. It has everything and anything you want in a castle: turrets, towers, reconstructed rooms, an armory, several exhibits on medieval life, PLUS costumed actors talking about what life was like the medieval ages – not as cheesy as it sounds, I promise. Another great thing about traveling in late January when the weather is terrible: smaller tourist group. I went on the White Tower tour with a small group of school kids and one other tourist. After the tour guide finished her spiel for the kids and they were clearly antsy to run an explore, she led the other tourist and I behind the velvet ropes in the Norman Chapel and up to the alter, explaining each detail of its history as we went along, saying it’s really the best way to see the chapel, but she can’t do that with large groups! The second tour I took of the castle in general, led by one of the Yeoman Warders (Beefeaters), was equally as entertaining, albeit with a larger group. Unfortunately, there are no photos allowed of the crown jewels, but they are magnificent! The legends associated with the Tower are almost half of the fun as well – from the ravens to the bloody tower there was something interesting at every corner.

I continued on later (5 hours later!) along the Thames River Walk on the northern bank of the river. Stopping briefly for lunch, I ended up walking a bit with two elderly ladies visiting from Liverpool (we had all come from the supermarket and were trying to find our way back onto the River Walk). They were very funny and had great suggestions on things to do in London and around England. I finished up the walk at Big Ben and Parliament and as I sat on the base of some statue, ended up striking up another conversation with an elderly man – he was an architect who was selling sketches of the city to raise money for the children’s hospital. After a long conversation about traveling, his interesting stories (he was in the British Navy and served during the Suez Crisis), and asking me quite a few questions about New York, he ended up sharing quite a few insider tips for London!

I walked over to Buckingham Palace, where I took a few photos to kill time waiting for the Evensong service at Westminster to start, and will be heading back tomorrow to see the changing of the guard, even if most do find it over-rated, I think it’s a London must! The Evensong service is a 5pm prayer unique to the Anglican church. It was very interesting and quite an experience to hear the organ play! Ironically though, the hymn sung was Amazing Grace – an American tune!

I finished up my long day by meeting up with Michelle again as we headed to find a pub for some more fish and chips and a pint!

There are a lot of photos this time:

Leave a comment